Don’t Worry Be Happy

22 09 2012

I’m sitting in my dorm room right now and the sun is shining outside. The wind is blowing and the branches seem to sway to the beat of the music that I’m listen to at the moment. I’m not really sure why but I’m really happy today. Not like a crazy happy but a calming happy. Maybe it’s just the music (since I’m listening to “Don’t Worry Be Happy” by Bob Marley”) but I think it’s more than that. 

I’ve had a lot of time to reflect on a couple of things these past couple of things. First of all Brad and Abby aren’t on good terms. Abby texted me yesterday, complaining about how Brad hasn’t texted her in DAYS. As I watched text message after text message appear on my phone, all complaining about him, I wasn’t bitter any more. In fact, I’d probably go as far to say I didn’t really care.

Not that I don’t love Abby but I think I have better things to do with my time. Sure I’ll listen to her rant but I’m not going to spend any more time thinking about how I might’ve been better with Brad or how I hate them both for getting the job I wanted. I just realised one morning that I’m about three thousand miles from where they are and it doesn’t matter what I do, I can’t go back in time to change the past. So it doesn’t really matter any more.

Another thing that I seem to have cleared up is how unhappy I must’ve been before I came to university. In high school, I thought I was happy but I realise now that I was just dealing with the things I had to deal with. I wasn’t really happy until I came here and realised just what real happiness is. People here are genuine. In high school, everyone was labelled as one thing and you were forever known as that one thing. Even if I had gone to university in my home-town I would still be known as that one thing because it would just be the same people around me. Here though, I got a chance to start over. To be someone that I thought I had lost for a long time. To be just me. 

And the people here accepted that without question.

For instance it’s the weekend and a lot of people go home on my floor. Yesterday, there were a few who went home and we all went to say goodbye to them. If I didn’t know better, I would’ve thought they weren’t ever coming back. Even though they were just going to be gone for a few days, there were hugs all around and “get home safely” wishes. In that moment, I realised just how close I was with these people and just how much they love me even though we’ve only known each other for a few weeks. I never had that feeling in high school.

So the group of us who were left decided to go out to dinner. Along the way, we laughed and chatted and the 2km walk seemed to pass in an instant. We ate and laughed about how long the food took to get to us. We took pictures and watched as one of our friends ate a red hot pepper. Needless to say we had a great time and I smiled through the night. I didn’t realise this thought till my roommate and I were back in our room and I was still smiling like a crazy person.  

Do I miss my home-town? Sure I do. My parents and siblings and family are all back there and I miss them like crazy sometimes. Do I wish that I went to university at my home-town? At first I did because it felt like I was missing out on so much. But then I came here and now I have a new family. One that loves me for me and wants nothing more than for me to have a great time.  

So I guess the motto for today is “Don’t Worry Be Happy”. Because if there’s anything that I learned over these couple of weeks, it’s that we all deserve to be happy. And the way we find that happiness? Just stop looking for it and it’ll come!        

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

